Agartala: A record 95% voter exercised their franchise in the Nalchar assembly bypoll in Tripura’s Sipahijala district today.

Returning Officer, Shankar Chakraborty said, over 95% votes were polled peacefully.

The CPI-M fielded Tapan Chandra Das and the Congress Dwijendralal Majumder. There were two other candidates.

Eight companies of BSF, Tripura State Rifles and CRPF were deployed for the bypoll.

The seat fell vacant following the death of ruling CPI-M, MLA, Sukumar Burman on March 10.